The goal is not to be fashionable

“It’s easy to feel like you’ve got nothing to wear, but it’s also a signal of identity problems. If you’ve got a well-developed sense of identity, you tend to know what’s you no matter what the trends. Nothing I buy ever looks new, because I have my look down, and it’s classic.”

Anjelica Huston (Harper’s Bazaar, September 2006)

(I found it on T’s blog.)

5 responses to “The goal is not to be fashionable

  1. i like those quote, it’s a good one. anjelica huston has always struck me as knowing who she is and being comfortable in her own skin. and that’s where style comes from.
    by the way, i’m over 40 with a fine arts background, too. 🙂

  2. *this* quote, i meant. clearly i haven’t had enough coffee this morning!

  3. Thanks for your comments, Odyssey. I enjoy your blog and what you are able to do with a black & white wardrobe!

  4. I really swing back and forth. For my work wardrobe I have it down pat. Often I only have seconds before I have to be out the door, so at the time of purchases I need to know that it will work when I’m pulling blind. But for “play” it’s like I share my closet with 3 different people.

  5. I feel like I have my uniform down pat at this point. I think you wrote a post awhile ago dealing with fitness. I feel like I can’t take style to the next level until I lose some weight, but honestly, I don’t know what I’d change in terms of the uniform components. I think I would just feel better.