Ruthless purge of the makeup collection

As I’ve mentioned before on this blog (and a few times on my previous blog), I’ve been feeling annoyed by the size of my makeup collection.

I kept telling myself that I wanted a small, carefully edited selection. So periodically, I’d throw out a few useless products. But I knew I wasn’t done. Because then every day, I’d see my “favorites” left in the makeup drawer, and I’d still feel like it was just too much.

Well, last night, as I was putting away my latest purchase, I decided enough was enough, and I started tossing. Really tossing. To be precise, I threw away 24 items, including some that were recently purchased.

What I’m left with:

  • Products that are tried and true and that I’ve purchased more than once, or will likely repurchase.
  • Products that work well for specific purposes (long wear, photography, formal or casual, etc.)
  • Products that I’m still experimenting with, and/or learning to use. (I.e., I’m not quite ready to give up on them.)

What I discovered from what I tossed:

  • I am DONE with lip gloss. No more. It doesn’t look good on me.
  • Even if it was expensive, if it doesn’t perform, it’s not worth keeping. There are so many amazing products available– why hang on to the duds?
  • Gifts-with-purchase and other random samples are not worth the space they take up. I’d rather choose my colors thoughtfully.

I’m pretty happy with what I have left. And I’ve decided that from here on out, I’ll implement a one-in, one-out rule. If I buy something new, something else will have to go. Since all I have left are things I like and use, this rule will make me think twice about my next impulse purchase.

Now that I’ve done this, I’m working up the courage to edit my clothes wardrobe. This is going to be a challenge, because I don’t actually own a lot of clothing.

But I do have a good number of pieces that I never wear. And I’ve decided they don’t need to be hanging in my closet.

Comments are closed.